• The Maison d’Izieu - Memorial to the Exterminated Jewish Children
Since 1994, the Maison d'Izieu Memorial has commemorated the 44 Jewish children and their educators who were deported from here in 1944 and later murdered. It is one of the central memorial sites to the victims of National Socialist crimes in France.
Image: Izieu, 1943, Before the war, the »House of Izieu« was used as a holiday home, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 1943, Before the war, the »House of Izieu« was used as a holiday home, Maison d’Izieu

Image: Izieu, 2001, The white building on the left houses the »Memorial to the Exterminated Jewish Children«, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 2001, The white building on the left houses the »Memorial to the Exterminated Jewish Children«, Maison d’Izieu
In May 1943, Jewish couple Sabine and Miron Zlatin took a group of Jewish children into their care in a house in Izieu, a village to the east of Lyon. Many of the youths had previously been held at internment camps in the south of France, set up by the Vichy government. Aid organisations such as the Œuvre de Secours aux Enfants (OSE, a welfare organisation for Jewish children) had succeeded in rescuing them from these camps. They were brought to Izieu where they were considered to be relatively safe: at the time, the region was not yet under German occupation, unlike the rest of France, but controlled by the Italians, who had occupied the region in November 1942. The children's home was officially established with the permission of the local sub-prefecture. In September 1943, German units took the territories which had previously been occupied by the Italians. Immediately, the SS and police apparatus began persecuting the Jewish population. On April 6, 1944, members of the Wehrmacht and Gestapo raided the Izieu orphanage and arrested the 44 Jewish boys and girls as well as 7 of their supervisors. 42 children and 5 supervisors were later murdered at the Auschwitz extermination camp by the SS. Two youths and the director of the orphanage were deported to Estonia and shot there.
Image: Izieu, 1943, Before the war, the »House of Izieu« was used as a holiday home, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 1943, Before the war, the »House of Izieu« was used as a holiday home, Maison d’Izieu

Image: Izieu, 2001, The white building on the left houses the »Memorial to the Exterminated Jewish Children«, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 2001, The white building on the left houses the »Memorial to the Exterminated Jewish Children«, Maison d’Izieu
The children's home in Izieu was in operation for just under a year, and in that time, it offered a safe haven to over 100 children. On April 6, 1944, the day of the Wehrmacht and Gestapo round-up in Izieu, there were 45 children at the orphanage. All of them were from Jewish families with the exception of one boy, whom the Germans later released. 44 children and their 7 supervisors were first deported to Lyon and then to the Drancy transit camp near Paris. By June 1944, the SS had deported 42 of the children and 5 of their supervisors to the Auschwitz extermination camp. All except one supervisor perished in the gas chambers; member of staff Léa Feldblum survived the camp. Orphanage director Miron Zlatin and two youths were deported from Drancy to Estonia on May 15, 1944, where they were deployed as forced labourers. In the course of the summer of 1944, they were shot in Tallinn.
Image: Izieu, March 26, 1944, Group photograph of the children 12 days before the round-up, Maison d’Izieu, Collection Marie-Louise Bouvier
Izieu, March 26, 1944, Group photograph of the children 12 days before the round-up, Maison d’Izieu, Collection Marie-Louise Bouvier

Image: Izieu, 2001, Memorial plaque with the names of the murdered children, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 2001, Memorial plaque with the names of the murdered children, Maison d’Izieu
Sabine Zlatin, co-founder of the Izieu children's home, was temporarily away on April 6, 1944, the day of the raid. A few weeks later, she returned to the ransacked house and collected the children's letters and drawings. After the war, she continued her efforts to commemorate the history of the Izieu children's home and applied with the prefect of the Ain Département for the affixing of a memorial plaque on the house. On April 7, 1946, two years after the raid, the plaque and a memorial column were dedicated in a neighbouring town. Relatives of the children and locals could now jointly pay tribute to the victims.
1983 was a turning point in the commemoration of the Izieu home. Klaus Barbie, the former head of the Gestapo in Lyon, was put on trial in France. Lawyer and historian Serge Klarsfeld and his wife Beate had tracked him down in Bolivia a few years earlier. The deportation of the children of Izieu played a central role in the trial: while conducting research, Serge Klarsfeld found a telegram written by Barbie on April 6, 1944, reporting the arrest and planned deportation of the children. Izieu thus became a well-known site in French contemporary history. In 1988, following the end of the trial, an association whose aim it was to create a memorial on site was established. In 1992, French president François Mitterand included the project in his »Grands travaux« programme of nationwide presidential projects. In 1994, the Izieu memorial was opened.
Image: Izieu, 2001, Former dining room, today part of the permanent exhibition, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 2001, Former dining room, today part of the permanent exhibition, Maison d’Izieu

Image: Izieu, 2001, Inscription with the dedication of the memorial, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 2001, Inscription with the dedication of the memorial, Maison d’Izieu
Name
Maison d'Izieu - Mémorial des enfants juifs exterminés
Address
70 route de Lambraz
01300 Izieu
Phone
+33 (0)4 798 721 05
Fax
+33 (04) 798 759 27
Web
http://www.memorializieu.eu
E-Mail
info@memorializieu.eu
Open
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday 2 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Between mid-June and mid-September daily 10 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.
Closed during the French Christmas holidays and all weekends in December and January
Possibilities
Permanent exhibition, guided tours for individual visitors and groups, educational offer for school groups, students and teachers

• Haus von Izieu - Gedenkstätte für die ermordeten jüdischen Kinder
Seit 1994 erinnert die Gedenkstätte Maison d´Izieu an die 44 jüdischen Kinder und ihre Betreuer, die 1944 von dort verschleppt und später ermordet wurden. Sie ist eine der zentralen Gedenkorte Frankreichs, an denen an nationalsozialistische Verbrechen erinnert wird.
Bild:Izieu, 1943, Das »Haus von Izieu« wurde vor dem Krieg als Ferienkolonie genutzt, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 1943, Das »Haus von Izieu« wurde vor dem Krieg als Ferienkolonie genutzt, Maison d’Izieu

Bild:Izieu, 2001, Im Gebäude links befindet sich die »Gedenkstätte für die ermordeten jüdischen Kinder«, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 2001, Im Gebäude links befindet sich die »Gedenkstätte für die ermordeten jüdischen Kinder«, Maison d’Izieu
Im Mai 1943 gelang es dem jüdischen Ehepaar Sabine und Miron Zlatin, eine Gruppe jüdischer Kinder in einem Haus in Izieu, einem Dorf östlich von Lyon, unterzubringen. Viele der Heranwachsenden hatten zuvor in Internierungslagern im Süden Frankreichs leben müssen, die die von Deutschland kontrollierte Vichy-Regierung eingerichtet hatte. Hilfsorganisationen wie dem Œuvre de Secours aux Enfants (deutsch: Kinderrettungswerk) war es gelungen, sie aus den Lagern zu befreien. Sie wurden von ihren Betreuern nach Izieu gebracht, weil sie sich dort in relativer Sicherheit befanden: Die Region stand zu diesem Zeitpunkt im Gegensatz zum übrigen Frankreich nicht unter deutscher Kontrolle, denn im November 1942 waren hier italienische Truppen einmarschiert. Die Einrichtung des Kinderheims erfolgte offiziell und mit Genehmigung des örtlich zuständigen Unterpräfekten. Erst im September 1943 rückten deutsche Militäreinheiten auch in das bisher italienisch besetzte Gebiet ein. Der SS- und Polizeiapparat begann mit der tödlichen Verfolgung der jüdischen Bevölkerung. Am 6. April 1944 überfielen Wehrmachts- und Gestapoangehörige das Kinderheim in Izieu und nahmen 44 jüdische Jungen und Mädchen sowie sieben ihrer Betreuer fest. 42 Kinder und fünf Erzieher ermordete die SS später im Vernichtungslager Auschwitz. Zwei Jugendliche und der Heimleiter wurden nach Estland verschleppt und dort erschossen.
Bild:Izieu, 1943, Das »Haus von Izieu« wurde vor dem Krieg als Ferienkolonie genutzt, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 1943, Das »Haus von Izieu« wurde vor dem Krieg als Ferienkolonie genutzt, Maison d’Izieu

Bild:Izieu, 2001, Im Gebäude links befindet sich die »Gedenkstätte für die ermordeten jüdischen Kinder«, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 2001, Im Gebäude links befindet sich die »Gedenkstätte für die ermordeten jüdischen Kinder«, Maison d’Izieu
In dem knappen Jahr seines Betriebs bot das Heim in Izieu mehr als 100 Kindern Unterkunft. Am 6. April 1944, dem Tag der Wehrmachts- und Gestaporazzia in Izieu, befanden sich 45 Kinder im Haus. Bis auf einen Jungen, der wieder freigelassen wurde, stammten sie aus jüdischen Familien. 44 Kinder sowie sieben Erzieher wurden dann zunächst nach Lyon verschleppt und anschließend in das Durchgangslager Drancy bei Paris verbracht. Bis Juni 1944 deportierte die SS 42 der Heimkinder und fünf ihrer Erzieher von dort in das Vernichtungslager Auschwitz. Mit Ausnahme der Betreuerin Léa Feldblum, die überlebte, starben sie in den Gaskammern des Lagers. Heimleiter Miron Zlatin und zwei Jugendliche wurden am 15. Mai 1944 von Drancy zur Zwangsarbeit nach Estland verschleppt und im Laufe des Sommers 1944 in der Festung Reval erschossen.
Bild:Izieu, 26. März 1944, Gruppenfoto der Kinder 12 Tage vor ihrer Verschleppung, Maison d’Izieu, Collection Marie-Louise Bouvier
Izieu, 26. März 1944, Gruppenfoto der Kinder 12 Tage vor ihrer Verschleppung, Maison d’Izieu, Collection Marie-Louise Bouvier

Bild:Izieu, 2001, Gedenktafel mit den Namen der ermordeten Kinder, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 2001, Gedenktafel mit den Namen der ermordeten Kinder, Maison d’Izieu
Die Mitbegründerin des Kinderheims, Sabine Zlatin, die während der Razzia vom 6. April 1944 nicht zugegen war, besuchte wenige Wochen später das ausgeplünderte Haus und stellte Zeichnungen und Briefe der deportierten jüdischen Kinder sicher. Diesem ersten Akt der Erinnerung folgte nach Kriegsende ihr Antrag an den Präfekten des Départements Ain, eine Gedenkplatte an das Haus anbringen zu lassen. Diese Tafel und eine Erinnerungssäule in einem Nachbarort wurden am 7. April 1946, zwei Jahre nach der Razzia, feierlich enthüllt. Seitdem gedachten Angehörige der Kinder regelmäßig gemeinsam mit der örtlichen Bevölkerung der Ermordeten.
Das Jahr 1983 wurde zu einem Wendepunkt für die weitere Erinnerung. In diesem Jahr stellte die französische Justiz den ehemaligen Gestapochef von Lyon, Klaus Barbie, vor Gericht. Der Rechtsanwalt und Historiker Serge Klarsfeld und seine Frau Beate hatten ihn bereits Jahre zuvor in Bolivien aufgespürt. Im Barbie-Verfahren spielte die Deportation der Kinder von Izieu eine zentrale Rolle: Serge Klarsfeld fand bei seinen Recherchen ein Telegramm Barbies vom 6. April 1944 mit der Meldung von der Verhaftung und der geplanten Deportation der Kinder. Izieu wurde nun zu einem allgemein bekannten Ort der französischen Zeitgeschichte. Nach dem Ende des Prozesses 1988 bildete sich ein Förderverein, der den Aufbau einer nationalen Gedenkstätte im Ort forderte. Der damalige Staatspräsident François Mitterand nahm das Vorhaben 1992 in seine »Grands travaux«, Projekte mit landesweiter Ausstrahlung, auf. 1994 eröffnete er die Gedenkstätte in Izieu.
Bild:Izieu, 2001, Ehemaliger Speisesaal, heute Teil der Dauerausstellung, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 2001, Ehemaliger Speisesaal, heute Teil der Dauerausstellung, Maison d’Izieu

Bild:Izieu, 2001, Schriftzug mit der Widmung der Gedenkstätte im Garten, Maison d’Izieu
Izieu, 2001, Schriftzug mit der Widmung der Gedenkstätte im Garten, Maison d’Izieu
Name
Maison d'Izieu - Mémorial des enfants juifs exterminés
Adresse
70 route de Lambraz
01300 Izieu
Telefon
+33 (0)4 798 721 05
Fax
+33 (04) 798 759 27
Web
http://www.memorializieu.eu
E-Mail
info@memorializieu.eu
Öffnungszeiten
Montag bis Freitag: 9.00 bis 17.00
Samstags 14.00 bis 18.00
Von Mitte Juni bis Mitte September täglich von 10.00 bis 18.30
Während der (französischen) Weihnachtsferien und an den allen Wochenenden im Dezember und Januar geschlossen
Angebot
Dauerausstellung, Führungen für Individualbesucher und Gruppen, weitere Angebote für Schüler, Studenten und Lehrer