• Memorials to the Murdered Jews of Vinnytsya
Several memorials in Vinnytsya, which is located on the banks of the Southern Bug river, are dedicated to the Jews murdered by German Einsatzgruppen (mobile killing squads) in 1941/1942.
Image: Vinnytsya, undated, Old view of the town with its former main Synagogue, myshtetl.org
Vinnytsya, undated, Old view of the town with its former main Synagogue, myshtetl.org

Image: Vinnytsya, 2017, Memorial to the murdered Jewish children, Stiftung Denkmal
Vinnytsya, 2017, Memorial to the murdered Jewish children, Stiftung Denkmal
Vinnytsya, located on the banks of the Souther Bug river, was established in the 15th century. The first Jews came to Vinnytsya in the 16th century. In 1897 there were 11,690 Jews living in Vinnytsya, amounting to over 35 per cent of the town's total population. At the beginning of the 20th century, several Jews were murdered in anti-Jewish pogroms.
Around 33,000 Jews lived in Vinnytsya before the Second World War. The German Wehrmacht occupied the city on July 19, 1941. Around 17,000 Jews had previously been able to flee from Vinnytsya. Units of Einsatzgruppe C (mobile killing squad) marched into the city together with the Wehrmacht. Shortly afterwards, the occupiers established a ghetto for the Jewish population of Vinnytsya. In September 1941, the first mass shootings took place in Vinnytsya: Police battalion 304 shot 2,200 Jews on September 5, 1941, and police battalions 45 and 314 shot at least 18,000 Jews on September 19 and 20. At the end of 1941, the area was declared to be »judenfrei« (»free of Jews«). However, countless numbers of Jewish craftsmen from Vinnytsya had to conduct forced labour building the Führerhauptquartier »Wehrwolf« in close vicinity of the city. Many of them were shot by the SS. Those who survived the selections were deported to labour camps.
Image: Vinnytsya, undated, Old view of the town with its former main Synagogue, myshtetl.org
Vinnytsya, undated, Old view of the town with its former main Synagogue, myshtetl.org

Image: Vinnytsya, 2017, Memorial to the murdered Jewish children, Stiftung Denkmal
Vinnytsya, 2017, Memorial to the murdered Jewish children, Stiftung Denkmal
The exact number of victims from Vinnytsya cannot be established; the times of the murder operations and responsible units cannot be determined in all cases. According to estimates, at least 20,000 Jews were murdered in Vinnytsya, according to the Israeli memorial Yad Vashem it could have been as many as 26,000.
Image: Probably Vinnytsya, around 1942, Murder of a Ukrainian Jew, Instytut Pamięci Narodowej
Probably Vinnytsya, around 1942, Murder of a Ukrainian Jew, Instytut Pamięci Narodowej

Image: Vinnytsya, 2017, Memorial complex, Stiftung Denkmal
Vinnytsya, 2017, Memorial complex, Stiftung Denkmal
After the end of the Second World War, surviving relatives of murdered Vinnytsya Jews raised a first memorial in the memory of the victims in the Maximov-Street. It has been altered since and today there is a Star of David on its top and a Ukrainian inscription that reads: »In the memory of the thousands of Jews who were tortured to death by the Fascists beginning September 19, 1941.
The memorial is now part of a larger memorial complex consisting of several memorials and mass graves. Two of the memorials are dedicated to children who were murdered. The older one carries the Ukrainian inscription: »During the war years the fascist executioners destroyed the hope of the Jewish people – the children – 1941–1945«. The newer memorial is made of marble, split in the middle and has a void in the form of a Star of David. The left side bears a Hebrew and a Ukrainian inscription. During the last years, yet another memorial was erected on the premises, a black stone with a Star of David and Russian and Ukrainian texts. It is dedicated to Jews from towns and villages surrounding Vinnytsya. There are annual memorial services here to honour the victims.
On the premises of the municipal brickyard a museum was established in 2008 by the organisation »Sochnut Ukraina«. One of its rooms deals with the destruction of the Vinnytsya Jews.
At the beginning of the 20th century there were still 17 synagogues working in Vinnytsya, of which only two are left today: the »Lifchitsa« synagogue, built in 1897 and another one in Chervonohrestivska-Street.
Image: Vinnytsya, 2017, Memorial to the murdered Jews, Stiftung Denkmal
Vinnytsya, 2017, Memorial to the murdered Jews, Stiftung Denkmal

Image: Vinnytsya, 2015, The Lifchitsa-Synagogue, Yevgenniy Shnayder
Vinnytsya, 2015, The Lifchitsa-Synagogue, Yevgenniy Shnayder
Image: Vinnytsya, 2003, Chairman of the Jewish community, Ilya Grobman, at the memorial to the murdered Jews, Ilya Grobman
Vinnytsya, 2003, Chairman of the Jewish community, Ilya Grobman, at the memorial to the murdered Jews, Ilya Grobman
Image: Shchitky near Vinnytsya, 2002, Dedication of the Memorial to the murdered Jews, Ilya Grobman
Shchitky near Vinnytsya, 2002, Dedication of the Memorial to the murdered Jews, Ilya Grobman
Name
Pamjatniki ubitym ewrejam Winnizji
Phone
+380 432 523 374
Fax
+380 432 523 374
Web
http://www.jewish.vinnitsa.com
E-Mail
jewish@vinnitsa.com
Open
The memorials are accessible at all times

• Denkmäler für die ermordeten Juden von Winniza
In Winniza (ukrainisch: Winnyzja) am südlichen Bug erinnern mehrere Denkmale an die 1941 und 1942 von deutschen Einsatzgruppen ermordeten Juden der Stadt.
Bild:Winniza, o.D., Alte Ortsaufnahme mit der früheren Hauptsynagoge der Stadt, myshtetl.org
Winniza, o.D., Alte Ortsaufnahme mit der früheren Hauptsynagoge der Stadt, myshtetl.org

Bild:Winniza, 2017, Denkmal in Erinnerung an die ermordeten jüdischen Kinder, Stiftung Denkmal
Winniza, 2017, Denkmal in Erinnerung an die ermordeten jüdischen Kinder, Stiftung Denkmal
Winniza, am Ufer des Südlichen Bugs gelegen, wurde im 15. Jahrhundert gegründet. Die ersten Juden siedelten Anfang des 16. Jahrhunderts in der Stadt. 1897 zählte die Stadt etwa 11.690 Juden, was über 35 Prozent der Einwohner entsprach. Viele Juden kamen bei antijüdischen Pogromen am Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts um.
Vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg lebten in Winniza etwa 33.000 Juden. Die deutsche Wehrmacht besetzte die Stadt am 19.7.1941. Zuvor hatten ungefähr 17.000 Juden aus Winniza fliehen können. Zusammen mit der Wehrmacht rückten Verbände der Einsatzgruppe C ein. Wenig später errichteten die Besatzer ein Ghetto für die jüdische Bevölkerung von Winniza. Im September 1941 erfolgten die ersten Massenerschießungen in Winniza: Das Polizeibataillon 304 erschoss am 5. September 1941 2.200 Juden, die Polizeibataillone 45 und 314 erschossen mindestens 18.000 Juden am 19. und 20. September. Ende 1941 wurde das Gebiet für »judenfrei« erklärt. Doch unzählige jüdische Facharbeiter aus Winniza und Umgebung mussten bis 1942 Zwangsarbeit beim Bau des Führerhauptquartiers »Wehrwolf« in der Nähe der Stadt leisten. Von ihnen wurden viele von der SS erschossen. Diejenigen, die die Selektionen überlebten, wurden in Arbeitslager deportiert.
Bild:Winniza, o.D., Alte Ortsaufnahme mit der früheren Hauptsynagoge der Stadt, myshtetl.org
Winniza, o.D., Alte Ortsaufnahme mit der früheren Hauptsynagoge der Stadt, myshtetl.org

Bild:Winniza, 2017, Denkmal in Erinnerung an die ermordeten jüdischen Kinder, Stiftung Denkmal
Winniza, 2017, Denkmal in Erinnerung an die ermordeten jüdischen Kinder, Stiftung Denkmal
Eine genaue Zahl der Opfer kann für Winniza nicht angegeben werden. Auch die Tatzeitpunkte und die beteiligten Dienststellen konnten nicht in allen Fällen ermittelt werden. Schätzungen zufolge wurden in Winniza mindestens 20.000 Juden ermordet, nach Angaben der israelischen Gedenkstätte Yad Vashem sogar bis zu 26.000.
Bild:Vermutlich Winniza, um 1942, Erschießung eines ukrainischen Juden, Instytut Pamięci Narodowej
Vermutlich Winniza, um 1942, Erschießung eines ukrainischen Juden, Instytut Pamięci Narodowej

Bild:Winniza, 2017, Gedenkanlage, Stiftung Denkmal
Winniza, 2017, Gedenkanlage, Stiftung Denkmal
Nach Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges errichteten Angehörige ein Denkmal in der Maksimow-Straße in Erinnerung an die ermordeten Juden der Stadt. Es wurde mehrmals geändert, heute prangt an seiner Spitze ein Davidstern. Die ukrainische Inschrift lautet: »In Erinnerung an die Tausenden von Juden, die die Faschisten brutal zu Tode folterten, ab dem 19. September 1941«.
Heute ist das Denkmal Teil einer umzäunten Gedenkanlage mit mehreren Massengräbern und Denkmälern. Zwei davon sind den ermordeten jüdischen Kindern der Stadt gewidmet. Das älteste trägt die ukrainische Inschrift: »Während der Kriegsjahre zerstörten faschistische Henker an dieser Stelle die Hoffnung des jüdischen Volkes – Kinder 1941 – 1945«. Das neuere Denkmal stellt einen in der Mitte gespaltenen Marmorstein dar, in dessen Mitte eine Lücke in Form eines Davidsterns eingelassen ist. Die linke Seite trägt eine hebräische und die rechte eine ukrainische Inschrift.
In den letzten Jahren wurde auf dem Gelände ein weiteres Denkmal errichtet. Auf dem schwarzen Stein sind ein Davidstern und eine russische und ukrainische Inschrift eingraviert. Letztere erinnert an die ermordeten Juden der einzelnen Ortschaften aus der Region Winniza. Jährlich findet an den Denkmälern eine Gedenkfeier statt.
Auf dem Gelände der städtischen Ziegelei befindet sich seit 2008 das Museum der Organisation »Sochnut Ukraina«. Einer der Räume beschäftigt sich mit der Vernichtung der Juden von Winniza.
Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts gab es 17 Synagogen in Winniza. Davon blieben lediglich die 1897 erbaute Synagoge »Lifschiza«, und die Synagoge in der Tscherwonochrestiwska-Straße erhalten.
Bild:Winniza, 2017, Denkmal für die ermordeten Juden der Stadt, Stiftung Denkmal
Winniza, 2017, Denkmal für die ermordeten Juden der Stadt, Stiftung Denkmal

Bild:Winniza, 2015, Die »Lifschiza«-Synagoge, Jewgennij Schnajder
Winniza, 2015, Die »Lifschiza«-Synagoge, Jewgennij Schnajder
Bild:Winniza, 2003, Der Vorsitzende der Jüdischen Gemeinde Ilja Grobman am Denkmal für die ermordeten Juden, Ilja Grobman
Winniza, 2003, Der Vorsitzende der Jüdischen Gemeinde Ilja Grobman am Denkmal für die ermordeten Juden, Ilja Grobman
Bild:Schtschitki bei Winniza, 2002, Einweihung des Denkmals für die ermordeten Juden, Ilja Grobman
Schtschitki bei Winniza, 2002, Einweihung des Denkmals für die ermordeten Juden, Ilja Grobman
Name
Pamjatniki ubitym ewrejam Winnizji
Telefon
+380 432 523 374
Fax
+380 432 523 374
Web
http://www.jewish.vinnitsa.com
E-Mail
jewish@vinnitsa.com
Öffnungszeiten
Die Denkmale sind jederzeit zugänglich